A POEM TO A FRIEND IN A FAR AWAY LAND. (For Olivia)

She’s left again dear Lord,An old dear dear friend
Gone off to search and wonder,In God’s vast earth for meaning, college and a job to find

She won’t be here to wipe off the tears I shed tomorrow,I won’t be there to hold her hand and laugh through the fears of a foreign land,
I’ll talk to her some, but I’ll hold back some, not wanting to ‘disturb’For distance puts a huge wall, albeit unplanned, on even the tightest friendships.

She might fall in love, Dear Lord,And I won’t even get to see the wonderment in her eyes,
I won’t be there either, to help select the perfect power suit, For her first job interview,
She won’t be here either Lord,When I turn twenty seven, in old cold June,
and get inducted into the Quarter Life Crisis Club. For distance puts a huge wall, albeit unplanned, on even the tightest friendships.

I got a letter from her last week, dear Lord. Seven pages of memories for a past half decade, of which I haven’t been,
She’s made new relations, new friends, I didn’t miss out on the ‘American-ness’ in her choice of words either,
For distance puts a huge wall, albeit unplanned, on even the tightest friendships.

They say, distance makes the heart grow fonder, Ours is but bittersweet,
Save for the commonness of the beautiful faith we share, And the pen on paper we have stubbornly refused to replace,
For even distance has nothing on a friendship anchored in His love.

Leave a Reply

