In my youth.

By Gloria Mwaniga

In my youth, had I known
That not all dreams can come true,
Then I would have dreamt more carefully,
And not let the visions of my heart go wild and untamed.

In my youth, had I known,
That wishes might come true,
Then I could have wished more carefully,
Just in case my wish was granted.

In my youth, had I known,
That loved ones wouldn’t be here forever,
Then, I would have loved them better,
And treated them with care
Just in case they won’t be here tomorrow.

In my youth, had I known,
That the choice of who I would be,
Is determined by what I choose to do everyday,
And not, by a master called fate
Then I would not have spent hours doing things I didn’t like.

In my youth,
Had I known, that smiling increases one’s life,
Then, I would have laughed more
And lived longer.

But now,
I know that an arrow thrown doesn’t come back to you,
And a word uttered cannot be taken back,
I now know that to love in a non-insurable risk,
And that regret, like hate,
is only for fools.

Leave a Reply

